nonnasnonsense

nonnas nonsense

DOWN the bluff TO the gulf and then back UP the bluff

Posted by nonnasnonsense on February 14, 2009

the human participants: me, sis, tom

the non-human participants: Gemma, Gianni, Guinness, Benji

gulf-trip-jan09-126

if you look really hard, you can find all four of the dogs in this pic. Guinness is the biggest, Benji next, and sis’s little Chihuahuas are in there too. can you find both of them?

so the trip down was pretty uneventful. it usually is. that’s the easiest part, ya know. all gotta do, pretty much, is  pick a direction that doesn’t have tons of trees or undergrowth. so we walk, slip, slide our way down the side of the mountain until we hit the gulf. This is actually Spring Creek if i remember correctly.

icy-spashes

this gulf is so much fun and holds tons of memories for us. we’ve been climbing down the bluff to go play in the water for as long as i remember. actually, i have some proof of that to back me up. hang on, while i go get an old snapshot and scan it on here…OK so i found it, scanned it, cropped it, and adjusted the color and such. This is a pic of me and my cousin Marny (twinFaye’s daughter) climbing around. oh, and mom and tom are in the background.

the hysterical thing that i just noticed? this pic was taken in June ’79 (i was almost 8 y/o) and the backpack that I’m wearing…is the SAME backpack that we took down for this trip!!

 

me-and-marny-cropped

gianni-in-the-bag3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 so what do you think? is my step-dad a pack rat or what?? ok, so enough of that silliness. now on with the adventure! tom  had taken us down to a certain place at the creek, that we used to go to when we were little. there was a nice big flat area to lay out or have a picnic lunch and a great little waterfall that we used to slide down rocks to splash into a little pool. here is the flat area. as you can see it has water covering right now, but a lot of times it is drier. the water level in the gulf changes drastically depending on rains and such. off to the left side of this pic is where we used to slide.

guiness-gettin-a-drink-from-the-creek

so after ooohhing and ahhhing at the water for awhile we started looking for a way back up. tom has found a deer trail that he says we can follow up more easily than trying to find our own way up. along the way, we kept getting side tracked by photo ops. that’s how we roll….

me-and-treesnorry-and-trees

 

 

 

can you tell which one the camera loves and which one loves the camera?? i’ll give you a hint. it sure as heck ain’t ME 🙂

although, i must admit i like this pic of me…it makes my boobs look huge! lol

 

as you can tell we didn’t get very far from this photo op before we were ready for another. i climbed up this big boulder, and it wasn’t that easy to do, then sis decides to climb up with me so tom can snap both of us. while he is trying to find a good place to stand and such we look down at our feet and Gemma has climbed up this huge boulder! we have no idea how she managed this feat but, i guess she just really wanted to be in the pic too!

me-and-sis-on-boulder

so by now, tom is getting tired of us stopping for a photo op every 10 feet so we decide to pack up the camera and get serious about climbing up. we were having to walk sideways across the slope for a while to get where we needed to be, and my ankle was getting tired. at least that’s the excuse I’m using. i took a step and the next thing i know i was gettin’ up close and personal with the ground. sis kinda gasped, then giggled, then asked me if i was ok. which i was. i had kinda slid down the slope as i was falling down so it was more of a surprise than anything else.

well, we finally reached the last 20-30 feet of climbing that we had to do. tom and sis decided to go one way, but i decided i was gonna be a rock climber today. why? do i have experience doing this? do I have any climbing equipment, you know, like a helmet? these could be some of the questions going through your mind right now. all i can say is, cuz i wanted to, no, and no again. so here is a pic of the path i climbed up the rocks. we weren’t smart enough to give the camera to sis while i climbed so no action shot (dangit!) i just took a pic i took after i climbed up. i’m standing off to the side and a little higher up. i have come to realise that it is very hard to photograph something well so that you can get a good sense of height and such, so this is the best i could do:

climbing-route

 i will leave y’all with one last photo that shows how pretty our woods are, and you can even get a glimpse of the water down at the bottom. and yes, that is a drop off behind me that i am hanging over with one arm and leg holding me up. i was fine till i had to pull my big butt back up. whew, for a minute there i thought gravity was gonna get the best of me!

thats-all-folks

that’s all folks!

8 Responses to “DOWN the bluff TO the gulf and then back UP the bluff”

  1. It must be nice to enjoy the outdoors. Love the backpack! I didn’t see your other posts before because I thought you be posting at both sites simultaneously! Dumb me.

    silly goose. that sounded like way too much work for me and i just wanted to make everybody come here and get used to me being here, not there. i think i mighta lost a few, but oh well. life goes on!

  2. de-I said

    The gulf looks like a wonderful place and that fact that you’ve been going there for so long is … well I don’t know but really cool.

    thanks! did ya hear that y’all? i’m cooool man. hehe

  3. territerri said

    I can’t find the 4th dog! Is this like Where’s Waldo?
    hmmm, i think i’ll make you keep guessin’ for a liiiittle while longer

    Your woods are beautiful. I’m jealous. It’s still frozen and cold here.

    Looks like some time outside was just what you needed. I was getting a little worried ’bout you!

    ha! shows how much you know. lol i think the climb down the mountain was what caused my problems. i think i did too much and wore myself out but, i’m feeling better know. thanks for worrin’ bout me though! 🙂

  4. super mama said

    very jealous of your outting…It looked freakin’ awsome (especially without all the snow,lol) Gland you had a good time, and glad you are back 😀

    gland, huh. hmmm valentine’s day and you make a freudian slip about a gland. wonder what you have on your mind, ay? 😉

  5. super mama said

    I mean “glad” you had a good time…lol

    sure you did. i know. i believe you. NOT

  6. Seashore said

    What a great hike – how come I haven’t been there? Glad you are posting.

    i guess cuz we don’t go up to mom’s or i’m just lazy when you’re here. how the heck would i know?? we can go anytime you want. you coulda just kept driving north after BG 🙂

  7. Karen said

    I would so have wanted to do all that too, especially with the fact that it is not all buried in snow! My mountain climbing days are over sadly. I’ve climbed on sandstone cliff like things while vacationing in Wisconsin, dangerous and stupid: yes, fun and exciting: hell yeah! Since I would like to keep my original knee and my wrist is a piece of crap and I am phobic of poison ivy since it damn near killed me I stick to the path now. At least I can live vicariously through you, that makes me happy =)!

    ugh!! i HATE poison ivy! i can look at it and get it. i’ve had it in my eyes, all over my face, and all over various body parts. ugh. i should just stay on the path myself since all of my joints are totally fubar but a)there is no path & b)even if there was one, that’s too boring for me! lol

  8. Norene said

    !!!!! Love the pictures!! The one of us and Gemma on the boulder is HILARIOUS, I mean, LOOK at the size of that rock…HOW THE HECKKKKKK did she get up there!? It has me cracking up!! Anddddd when u talked about the slip…again, I was rollin over here laughing so hard. I loved how you said, and THEN she asked if I was okay. LOL!!!!! Gianni looks so big in that backpack, its such a cute picture but he definately doesnt look 3 1/2 pounds! Great post!

    damn, i must be losing my touch if you didn’t feel a little bit guilty about laughing at me and you’re STILL laughing at me. brat 🙂 can you believe that’s the same back pack from when i was SEVEN??? you’re dad’s a worse pack rat than mom!

Leave a Reply

 
