nonnasnonsense

nonnas nonsense

show and tell saturday

Posted by nonnasnonsense on June 13, 2009

well a lot more showing than telling πŸ™‚ here is my vege garden. it’s doing great this year!

vege garden 2009 001

notice the boards to the left. hopefully that will stop the rain from flooding through the middle of my garden and washing away my hard work! the garden is downhill from our barn which has a LOT of water shed off of it in a hard rain. you might think, hmmm why do you keep planting it there then? well, not only does it shed a lot of water, but the barn also sends wonderful nutrients to the garden thanks to it’s previous occupants…cows! lol no need to fertilize in other words πŸ™‚

vege garden 2009 003

Β 

vege garden 2009 004

Β 

the sweet potatos just got planted recently. kind of a spur of the moment thing since i had this sweet potato in the kitchen trying to grow trees on it πŸ™‚ the okra didn’t come up the first go round. i think we had too much rain right after i planted them the 1st time. these were just planted a few weeks ago,Β so they are pretty small still. oh, and back on the left in the background are my cucumbers with cages around them so hopefully they will grow up instead of out. the bags on top of the cagesΒ are my “poor man’s scarecrow” πŸ™‚

vege garden 2009 005

vege garden 2009 007

i’ve always thought it was weird that people around here plant flowers in their vege gardens, but i guess i’ve turned into a true country person πŸ™‚ i planted sunflowers for my sis who loves them and some snap dragons for me.

16 Responses to “show and tell saturday”

  1. We plant some flowers that help keep bugs away…we have done this for a couple of years and have either had “success” or just weird luck with bugs. Not sure which, but if it isn’t broke…

    so what kind of flowers keep the bugs away?? maybe these country folk aren’t so strange after all lol

  2. Wow! Impressive garden. I think it’s a stitch that you don’t need fertizlizer in your garden “because of the previous occupants.” Also, I like your poorman’s scarecrow! I love sunflwowers as well, but only once did successfully plant them. Good luck and I can’t wait to see everything before you harvest.

    these sunflowers must be super flowers cuz they’re bigger than everything else already! i can’t wait til they start to bloom. they’re supposed to be all different colors. i’ll make sure to take pics of all the yummies as they come in πŸ™‚

  3. seashore said

    I’m jealous! My poor trampled garden…dogs. But, at least I can try again in a couple of months.

    why wait a couple months?? i’m jealous that you can plant now and still have enough time for things to ripen :p~~

  4. de-I said

    Oh man I want to come there and cook! Wife does a fabulous job given that we have only a little land, the soil is basically the broken down remains of the mountain, and we live in a desert. What I wouldn’t give for fresh corn, sweet potatoes, and okra (yes Jewish NY boy me loves okra!).

    Well I guess I wouldn’t give actually having to live in a place that was wet and humid or cold 😦

    i guess it’s good that we both live where we do, cuz i don’t think i could live somewhere hot and dry all the time either πŸ™‚ maybe we should just visit each other. i would love to go to the southwest…to visit. you could take me out sight-seeing in the desert and i could take you fishing or hiking in the woods (in the fall or spring so you won’t melt from the humidity) πŸ™‚

    • de-I said

      Fishing would be cool…especially if we can cook what we catch πŸ™‚

      but of course. we just caught a bunch of blue gill and ate them a couple weeks ago. yummmmy

  5. Your garden is so much cooler, bigger and growing nicer than mine. You suck.

    yeah, that’s what he said. ba da bump bump. πŸ™‚ you can come visit and take back some of my pre-fertilized dirt if ya want.

  6. Mrs4444 said

    I’ve always loved snapdragons πŸ™‚ Your garden looks wonderful!

    thank you! i checked the snap dragons yesterday and they are just starting to get some blooms forming. yipee!

  7. Norene said

    Yayyyy!!! SUNFLOWERS!!!! I’m so sorry I haven’t been over. I’m so busy with work that by the time I get outta there I just wanna make a B-line home! No excuses, just the truth!!! I love you so much and will see you soon! Your garden is lovely!!!

    just made me a big salad for dinner tonight. the sunflowers are over my head now!!! still no actual colors coming out on them yet but you can see the heads forming. oh my supposed to be “prairie blue eyes” day lilies are blooming. they are pink and yellow…pretty but NOT blue! jose is in trouble lol

  8. Rock Chef said

    Sweet potatoes? Cool! I want to grow some of those!

    very easy to do. just let a sweet potato sit near some sun or, in my case, near florescent lighting and it will sprout little “plants” all over it. then just snap those sprouts off and stick them in the dirt. i got 8 plants off of the one sweet potato!

  9. momma said

    I forgot to write when I first read this, daddy was very jealous when he saw the pictures. Our garden is very small. I don’t go down because I’m paranoid about being stung. I know my chances are small but if anyone has gone through anaphylactic shock they would be scared too. Love you momma

  10. territerri said

    The only flowers that end up in veggie gardens here are sunflowers… and maybe marigolds, because they are supposed to keep the rabbits away. The rabbits are always helping themselves to our veggies!

    i have my first sunflower bloom showing and my snap dragons are allllmost ready to pop open. oh! and i picked my first two cucumbers yesterday, but i forgot to take a pic of them. i really don’t have to worry about rabbits, deer, or skunks in my garden because my dogs run them all off πŸ™‚

  11. Marigolds work for us…Terri is pretty smart…for a girl.

    oh man! you’re brave or stupid one. you do know i’m totally gonna tell on you, right? πŸ˜‰

  12. nukedad said

    You mean you can’t plant it, water it, harvest it and then serve it at State dinners in 2 weeks like Michelle Obama? πŸ˜‰

    nope, i’m not that good yet. one can only dream πŸ˜‰

  13. Karen said

    Sweet garden, keep the pics coming so I can live vicariously =)

    yeah i need to take some more pics. my first crop of corn should be ready soon and we’ve been eating onions and cukes for a while now. oh, and my sunflowers are huge!

  14. Rock Chef said

    Hi, How are things?

    Thanks for the Sweet Potato tip – I will give it a go!

    things are finally moving along. i should be getting an appointment set today for my surgery!! yeah!! lol and i actually have an appointment to start physical therapy tomorrow, but i’m going camping with seashore subjects and her brood in FL, so i’m gonna have to postpone the physical therapy till next week (or later if my surgery is that soon).

  15. Bad Momma said

    Looking good! That is a nice size plot. Love your “scarecrow”! Good luck with the cucumbers. Mine are not doing so well this year. 😦

    wonder if they would ship well? i was gone for 6 days and had 12 more big cukes ready to be picked! hubby “forgot” to pick them even though i asked him about them everyday! lol

Leave a Reply

 
